UCR Homepage

Judy Kronenfeld Judy Kronenfeld
Professor Emeritus

Judy Kronenfeld, Lecturer Emerita, is a poet and writer of fiction and creative nonfiction, as well as an Associate Editor of the online poetry magazine, Poemeleon. Her books of poetry include, Ghost Nurseries (Finishing Line Press), Disappeared Down Dark Wells and Still Falling (Inevitable Press), and Shadow of Wings (Bellflower Press). Her second full collection of poetry, Light Lowering in Diminished Sevenths, won the 2007 Litchfield Review Poetry Book Award and was published by the Litchfield Review Press in 2008.

Her poems have appeared in such journals as NATURAL BRIDGE, CIMMARON REVIEW and THE WOMEN'S REVIEW OF BOOKS. Her work has been included in anthologies, including Red, White & Blues: Poets on the Promise of America and Love Over 60: An Anthology of Women's Poems.

Stephen Minot (deceased) Stephen Minot
Professor Emeritus

Stephen Minot was the author of three novels, two collections of short stories, three college textbooks, and many short stories. His novels are Chill of Dusk (Doubleday), Ghost Images (Harper& Row), and Surviving the Flood (Atheneum/Second Chance Press). His story collections are Crossings (University of Illinois Press) and Bending Time (The Permanent Press). His textbooks are Reading Fiction, Three Genres, now in its 7th edition, and Literary Nonfiction, the Fourth Genre. All are published by Prentice Hall.

His stories appeared in such magazines as the ATLANTIC, HARPERS, PLAYBOY as well as a wide range of literary quarterlies including The Kenyon Review, The Virginia Quaterly Review, The Sewaneee Review, and others. They were selected several times for inclusion in both the O. Henry Prize Stories collection and The Best American Short Stories.

Maurya Simon Maurya Simon
Professor Emeritus

Maurya Simon is the author of eight volumes of poetry, includingThe Enchanted Room and Days of Awe (Copper Canyon Press, 1986, 1989), Speaking in Tongues (Gibbs Smith, 1990), which was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize, and The Golden Labyrinth (University of Missouri Press, 1995). Her fifth volume, A Brief History of Punctuation, was published in a limited edition by the fine letter-press book publisher, Sutton Hoo Press, and another letter-press collection of ekphrastic poems, WEAVERS, based on the paintings of Los Angeles artist Baila Goldenthal, was published by Blackbird Press in 2005. Simon's seventh volume, Ghost Orchid (Red Hen Press, 2004) was nominated for a 2004 National Book Award in Poetry, and her eighth volume, Cartographies, was published by Red Hen Press in September 2008."Tamar," an opera by French composer, Eliane Aberdam, and based on Simon's eponymous verse libretto, premiered at the University of Rhode Island in March of 2007.

Simon has been a fellow at The MacDowell Colony and the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, as well as serving as a 2005 Poet-in-Residence at the Vermont Studio Center. In addition, she has been a fellow at Hawthornden Castle in Edinburgh, Scotland and at the Baltic Centre for Writers and Translators in Visby, Sweden. Simon has also served as a Visiting Professor at Lund University in Sweden. She has twice been the recipient of a Visiting Artist Fellowship from the American Academy in Rome, as well as having received a Fellowship in Poetry from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), a University Award from the Academy of American Poets, the Celia B. Wagner and Lucille Medwick Memorial Awards from the Poetry Society of America, and a Fulbright/Indo-American Fellowship in Bangalore, South India. In addition, Simon's poetry has been translated into French, Rumanian, Bengali, Swedish, Spanish, and Farsi.

Maurya Simon lives in the Angeles National Forest of the San Gabriel Mountains in Southern California.

Dwight Yates Dwight Yates
Professor Emeritus

Dwight Yates's fiction has appeared in numerous literary journals, including NORTHWEST REVIEW, ZYZZYVA, WESTERN HUMANITIES REVIEW, QUARTERLY WEST, and SONORA REVIEW.

He was a Pushcart Prize Special Mention in 1992 and was awarded the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Fellowship in Fiction in 1993. In 2008, he was awarded his second NEA fellowship.

His first collection of short stories, Haywire Hearts and Slide Trombones, won the Serena McDonald Kennedy Award from Snake Nation Press in 2005, while his second collection of short fiction, Bring Everybody, won the inaugural Juniper Prize for Fiction from the University of Massachusetts Press.